Guard-rails, bumpers, and airbags

image

I’m not good at being patient. I hate waiting rooms. Long lines make me die a little inside. Slow loading time on Facebook? Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I want what I want when I want it. Now would be terrific.

If you are an instant gratification junkie like I am, the following eight words will make your face pucker up like Renee Zelwegger.

“Be still, and know that I am God.”

There are certain things in life that will only happen in God’s timing. Sometimes the answer is no. Other times the answer is not yet.

So what do I do in the waiting time? The long, loooong, waiting time.

My natural inclination is to obsess over the thing I feel I’m missing out on. This leads me to dream up ways to nudge things along a little. Can’t hurt, right?

Here’s the problem. My first instinct should be to ask for God’s will to be done in the situation; that the outcome will bring  God glory and bring me joy. No matter what way I try to spin it (slideshow presentation on why I’d make a better wife for Channing than Jenna), that may mean that my answer is no or not yet.

It’s difficult to give up control like that. I do know, though, from past mistakes that doing things my way never ends well.

So, I need to “be still”. I need to stop striving. It’s exhausting. The second part of the verse is even more crucial: “Know that I am God”.

I have to know that God is able to do exceedingly beyond anything I could ask or imagine. If I don’t have something, it’s for a reason.  It may be to teach me patience, protect me from harm, or grow my faith. It might be to test my obedience. God only knows.

My only job is to pray hard and be holy. Those two things are my guard-rails on a road marked with slippery slopes. They’re my bumpers in my lane at the bowling alley..my side and front airbags..my..well, you get the point.

I can’t mess anything up if I’m keeping the line of communication open with God. If I am acting in obedience and deference to the Lord, I’m not going to screw the pooch and have a bunch of regret.

There’s nothing wrong with longing. The only wrong is to want something more than you want to please God.

Holiness. Prayer. I am trying to hold them close, and trying to be still. Trying to know that he is God. And that I’m in great hands.

Ang

About Angela

I'm just trying to figure this life thing out with the help of some amazing friends and a God who loves me in spite of my tendency to forget what is truly important!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

