Unforgettable

image

What has God forgotten to do in your life?

There must be something.

Are you waiting to get married, get pregnant, get a promotion, win the lottery, or get your adopted kids from the Congo?

What is the prayer, the one desire that causes a little ache in your heart whenever you think about it?

For me, it’s marriage. My heart echoes David’s in Psalm 13: “How long, O LORD? Will you forget  me forever?” While I don’t believe in “the one”, I still want a good love story. The men I’ve dated so far haven’t been right. They’ve been good, but not “it”. I believe God can bring me a man who will challenge and delight me, who worships with his whole heart and also knows all the words to “Big Papa”.

One well-meaning male friend tells me I just need to lose weight and then I’ll find someone. I am conscious that I am not a size two, and I am working on it. I don’t think this defines me or makes me undesirable. I am kind of hot. Inside and out. I would make a great wife. Not skinny people find love every day. The last five men I’ve dated were all in great shape and would have married me if I’d allowed the relationship to continue. The reason I’m not married is because God hasn’t given me peace about any of them. Not yet.

So, I trust God. I don’t try to force it. David concludes that same Psalm in which he feels forgotten “But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me.”

The key to not becoming bitter is to remember how God has showed up in the past. He has. So many times. The very fact that He is present means that he hasn’t forgotten. His plans and his timing are just different than mine. I can choose to be  upset, or I can rejoice in the fact that God loves me and saved me from my sin and the self-destructive path I was on. I choose joy.

Happy First Day of Fall, friends! You are loved.

Ang

About Angela

I'm just trying to figure this life thing out with the help of some amazing friends and a God who loves me in spite of my tendency to forget what is truly important!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unforgettable

  1. JT says:

    The joy of the Lord shall be your strength. Continue to hope in the Lord and ask of Him what you want in a husband and He’ll give you exceedingly abundantly more than what you ask or think.
    Shalom Sister.

Leave a Reply

